Closing Worksets

17 Mar

In the Worskets dialog there is a column “Opened”. You can close a workset by setting this to “No”, or by selecting the row for that workset and picking the “Close” button. Even better, when you are opening the file, in the Open dialog there is a pull-down called “Open Worksets”. Set that to “Specify”. Then click “Open”. Mark worksets closed in the subsequent dialog to keep them from being opened in the first place.

The differences between closing the workset and turning off visibility are:

– Visibility is per view, while closing the workset hides it in all views.

– Visibility is a saved setting; every subsequent time you open the file it remembers whether each workset should be visible in each view. Closing worksets is temporary — it is generally forgotten the next time you open the file (though there is a way to tell it to use the previous configuration).

– Because closing a workset hides it in all views, if you close the workset when opening the file it often doesn’t need to load most of the elements of that workset into memory, so you save a lot of memory. This can improve performance.

Generally you should use visibility if you want to permanently change the way a sheet will look when plotted. Use workset closing when you are just trying to improve performance by temporarily hiding stuff you don’t need to see in the current session.

via Closing Worksets.

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

w

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: